Liana Joy Christensen

Greetings to those who share my love of writing and animals. By way of a brief introduction, I have for the last 30 years written about animals in various voices and published in multiple genres – academic, polemic and poetic. Here is a sample of one of my animal poems just published in the Fremantle Press Performance Poets anthology: performancepoets.bandcamp.com/track/beastitudes

 As one of the AASG writers in residence, I view my role as giving service within the broad and honourable tradition of trickster animals – including Anansi, Coyote, Curupira, Kuma Lisa, Br’er Rabbit and Pan. But don’t panic! Transdisciplinary rule breaking might sound ominous – and the text and theme of some of my writings may sometimes be somber as befits the subject matter – but the prevailing spirit is one of laughter and play: I consider them to be among the best ways to re-embody the connection with our kin.

 I am going to be posting Zoo Haiku on the blog in response to your writing and papers. They will not fit the traditional criteria (see Trickster above!). However, they will be a short poetic reprise of your passions and work. See if you can recognise and claim your own haiku here. If your work does not appear, I invite you to distil the very essence of your work and write and post your own.



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.